Board of Trustees

The Brooklyn Heights Montessori School is a nonprofit 501(c)(3), non-stock education corporation incorporated by the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York.

The ultimate responsibility for the governance and the management of the school lies with the Board of Trustees. The BHMS Board meets as a whole at least four times per year and is guided by a set of bylaws that contains provisions dictated by law as well as the Board’s own procedures. The bylaws specify that the Board will consist of 18 to 25 individuals who are elected for three-year terms. The Board elects a President, a Vice President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer and may elect other officers if it deems it appropriate to do so. All Trustees volunteer their time.

The Board annually approves an Executive Committee, comprised of not fewer than five Board members. The Executive Committee works with the President to establish the Board’s annual agenda, which is derived from the priorities of the long-range plan, a document created periodically through the collective efforts of all of the school’s constituencies and adopted by the Board.

Much of the Board’s work is done through committees, which often include faculty, staff, or parent representatives, and which meet throughout the year. Typical committees focus on finance, long-range planning, policies and procedures, development, marketing, support and evaluation of the Head of School, and the Board’s own performance and succession.

The Head of School is the chief executive officer of the School. The Head is charged with implementing the School’s long-range plan and overseeing the effective administration of all aspects of the School’s operation.

Board of Trustees

· Ivette Greenblatt, President

· Christina Horner, Vice President

· Neely Cather, Secretary

· Phil Marriott, Treasurer

· David Herbstman, Strategic Plan

· Jodie Corngold

· Rachel Dickinson

· Margaret Donohoe

· Victoria Doyle

· Tony Featherston

· Jon Freeman

· Demetris Giannoulias

· Martha Haakmat

· Colby Hall

· Andrea Kelly

· Emily Kirven

· Joshua Levine

· Teresita Levy

· Andrew McCormick

· Ann Mellow

· Flien Moes

· Allison Oakes

· Tracey Walters-Edwards

· Helene Banks, Trustee Emeritus

· Nicole Gueron, Trustee Emeritus

· Susannah Taylor, Trustee Emeritus